Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation guides Basler Afrika Bibliographien at the strategic level. It provides the necessary resources and allocates funds to scholarships and projects twice yearly.

In appointing Board of Trustee members, importance is attached to knowledge of southern Africa and the work of Basler Afrika Bibliographien as well as skills in archival and library studies, finance, law, and science. The founding family is represented on the Board of Trustees in line with the Foundation statute.

Board of Trustees

Jörg H. Schwarzenbach, President, since 1994

Dr. Veit Arlt, since 2011

Esther Baur, since 2017

Dr. Martin Lenz, actuary, since 2008

Luccio Schlettwein, Board of Trustees delegate and Managing Director, since 2010

Pierrette Schlettwein, since 2010

Former Trustees

Dr. h.c. Carl Schlettwein, 1994–2005
Dr. Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell, 1994–2010
Lorenz Homberger, 1994–1999
Dr. Oliver Wackernagel, 1994–2008
Prof. Dr. Meinhard Schuster, 1996–2011
Dr. Josef Zwicker, 2000–2017